Floods – New Single ’98’

Floods are a post-hardcore band from St Albans, Hertfordshire, who came bursting onto the the scene in 2009 with their EP Cold Light. They begun their rise to fame on the local gigging circuit, and I was lucky enough to catch one of their early gigs at Club 85 in Hitchin. I was immediately struck by the band and knew they were one to watch. They had a solid stage presence with some true hardcore prowess. Their biggest crowd pleaser from Cold Light was the single Victory Road; the memorable bass-line makes the song instantly recognisable, and hopefully their new album will offer more of the same.

In 2011 Floods reached new heights as one of the winners of the Red Bull Bedroom Jam, earning them a place at some of the biggest summer  festivals. I caught their set at Sonisphere and was pleased to see them performing with the same vigour I had loved before. They battled with the sound quality of the small tent, but there was a clear following who had braved the mud to cheer them on. The mosh-pits unleashed and the set climaxed with front-man James Power climbing the rigs and screaming from overhead. Floods really know how to make the most of a set and give you a performance to remember.

Floods were also unleashed at Download and Hevy Festival where they were a huge success. Dead Press reviewed the performance at Download as: ‘”pure slices of ambient hardcore menace, and one hell of a show to capture visually.” Floods finished their Festival tour with Hevy Festival, where front man James reportedly took to the floor and delivered his striking vocals from within the crowd.

It’s now a year down the line and Floods have signed to Small Town Records to release their self-titled debut album which is on its way to us this Autumn. Small Town Records announced: “Floods left us staggered by their astonishing live shows at Sonisphere and Hevy in 2011. We’re incredibly proud to be releasing their debut self-titled album to the world, and feel it’s the perfect addition to the fantastic releases Small Town Records will be bringing the public this year.”

Vocalist James Power said: “We’re stoked to be able to release our album on a label like Small Town Records, they’ve put out some records by some of my favourite bands in the past and to be given the opportunity to add to their catalogue is an amazing opportunity for us… This albums been a long time in the making with multiple set backs and restarts but we’re so excited to finally be releasing something new for the first time in three years. We honestly can’t wait to start showing everyone what we have to offer.”

Floods have released a much anticipated preview with a single from the new album, which you can listen to and download from their website. The single is called 98, and after 3 years it’s proved well worth the wait. Floods have kept their unique flood-ness: it’s a mash-up of hardcore riffs, signature screams and melodic vocals. I’ve had the track on replay and can’t wait to see what the rest of the album has to offer.

Floods is:
James Power – Vocals
Joe Page – Guitar
Ash Hughes – Guitar
Joshua Dunne – Bass
Toby Houghton – Drums

Twitter: @Floodsuk

Click to comment
To Top